Tenerife – Hike from Vilaflor to Paisaje Lunar

19 04 2012

Today I collect my little car which should make me a bit more mobile for the next week. I received a little Kia Picanto at the car rental station. It’s really a nice, little car. I didn’t drove a Kia before but this car surprised me very positive.

My first challenge was to find from the rental station to the highway. Compared to Germany the road signs are very rare.

After I found the correct highway I drove directly to Vilaflor. Vilaflor is the highest-located city on Tenerife. It’s a very small town built into the mountains at 1420m above sea-level.

This city was the start point for my first hike at Tenerife. The track I choose should bring me from 1400m up to 1971m above sea-level. The highlight of this hike was Paisaje Lunar which is a white moon scape. It’s a very impressive view to see these mountains formed by nature.

On the hike I came across some old buildings which were also very nice and were a good motive for a picture.

When I reached Paisaje Lunar I thought it’s a good time to take a little rest and enjoy the great view there. I realized very soon that I’m surrounded by a couple of lizards. I had some apples inside my backpack and feed some of the lizards with some apple pieces. The came very close and I was able to take some very nice pictures.

After I returned from the hike I sat down for a moment next to the car. I was able to look very far down the hill. In less than 10 minutes the weather changed completely. The sight was reduced by the fog which reached Vilaflor. I was only able to see a couple of meters. It’s really unbelievable how fast the weather can change at Tenerife. It wasn’t the last time that I had such a weather change while I have been to Tenerife.

Afterwards I drove into the Teide National Park. The sight wasn’t that good and I wasn’t able to view very far. At one point I was still able to see the peak of the Teide which is the highest mountain in Spain (3718m).

Some pictures about the Teide National Park will follow in one of my next posts.

If you are interested in the hike I did, have a look at the following map. This displays the hike I did.

I have taken a little panorama shot on my way back.

DSC_0069-DSC_0071

And here you can find some of my pictures from the hike.

Cheers,

Daniel

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

