Tenerife – Montana Amarilla & Arguayo

20 04 2012

On my second day with the car I planed to visit Barranco del Infierno. Inside my travel guide is written that this is one of the highlights of Tenerife.

I drove to Adeje which is in the south of the island. The entry of Barranco del Infierno, which is a wildlife sanctuary, is located at the north of Adeje. This area is very steep. I was really happy that I had no oncoming traffic and don’t had to stop at this very steep road.

After I parked my car I walked the last meters to the entry. At the entry was a little ticket box where you normally can buy the ticket for the entry. Today the ticket box was closed. I saw a big sign saying that the track is closed because the risk of falling rocks is to high at the moment. I was very disappointed about this information.

Back at the car, I had to plan something new. Inside my travel guide was another short hike at the west of Tenerife which sounds interesting. My next stop was Arguayo. Inside this little town, close to the football stadium the track for this hike starts. Have a look at my GPS-Track from this little hike if you like.

When you stand at the beginning of the walk you can see two mountains. I followed the track until I reached the top of the left mountain. There I had an awesome view over the complete valley. The weather was good and I had the first time a nice view to La Gomera which is the neighbor island. On the way back I found the entry to the “official” hike which is described inside my travel book. This track will bring you around the right mountain. It’s not easy to find the entry. The track isn’t used very often therefore many parts are accrued by nature.

While hiking on this track I was able to see another part of the valley which was very nice, too. On the way back at the other side of the right mountain I must have left the official path (it wasn’t possible to see the official path). Later I had to climb over some rocks to reach the official path again. After finishing this walk I still had enough time for something else.

I decided to drive back to the south. Costa del Silencio was my next stop. This little holiday town is located near Montana Amarilla. This little mountain is located directly at the coast. It was a short walk up to the top with a nice view. I continued my walk along the coast line and found a place which looks a bit like Paisaje Lunar.

Costa del Silencio is located very close to the airport. I was able to see a couple of aircrafts landing. Near the airport is a little mountain which is colored red. I got some really nice shoots from this little mountain while walking along the coast line. Have a look at my GPS-Track where I walked around in this area.

As you could already see on my GPS-Track I walked a bit to the inland before I walked back to my car.

Can you guess what is coming now? Sure I have some panorama pictures for you.

DSC_0120-DSC_0123

DSC_0127-DSC_0130

DSC_0142-DSC_0147

There is another picture which I want to show to you, here you can see how fast the weather conditions can change at Tenerife. On the Arguayo walk I have taken a picture. 18 minutes later you weren’t able to see the Teide because the weather has changed that fast. Have a look at this picture of the Teide National Park.

DSC_0112_126

And last but not least the picture album with some pictures of both walks.

Cheers,

Daniel

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

